Hello All

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barks67

Reaction score
Hello All.
Long time Tokai user and fan here.
Thought I'd share info on two of my guitars and some historical background. Both have been - and still are- hard working guitars as, I have been a pro musician and session player for the last 25 years.

I bought my first Tokai Goldstar in 1987 from Strings Guitar Center, Ryde, Isle of Wight as a replacement for the Fender Strat I'd just had stolen :evil:
It is a Candy Apple Red ST50 with rosewood neck.
I distinctly remember they had 3 models of Strat to choose from. The ST40, ST50 and ST55.
The 40 was the cheapest with rather crappy hardware - machine heads with little chrome covers - whilst the 50 were all Rosewood capped and the 55 were maple necks.
Prices were ?249, ?270 and ?299 respectively.
This one has been a real workhorse. It has had 3 refrets in the last 23 years, as well as new machine heads and bridge - which rusted so much it kept snapping strings!
The pickups are all Seymour Duncan Vintage Alinco's that I fitted in 1988. It is wired to work like a Telecaster, but the first tone control is now wired as a volume for the middle pickup so I can add it if needed. The remaining tone is a universal tone pot.
This one I used when I worked with The Pretty Things from 1990-94. Infuriatingly the selector switch knob fell off at a gig a month ago, so it has a bit of rubber on until I get a replacement.

Photo0399.jpg

Photo0400.jpg

Photo0404.jpg

Photo0407.jpg

Photo0410.jpg

Old Bridge!
Photo0411.jpg
[/img]

My other is a Love Rock from 1985 that I bought from "Honest John's" in Chichester in 1990.
It had been on their wall for nearly 5 years when I got it as Les Pauls' were so out of vogue in the late 80's. I think its a LS60 or even 70, though the sharp eyed out there may know better?