Pickup suggestions for LS80

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArthurS

Reaction score
Figured that since there's been no activity in almost a week, I might as well open a new thread to try and start things going again ;)

As some of you may remember, I had a wonderful pair of Tim White "Timbucker" PAF-replicas in my 2003 LS80F. They were absolutely incredible, but I'm a mere college student and went through some expensive weeks, so with regret I sold them on eBay a few weeks ago.

Anyway, I re-installed the stock Gotoh pickups and, perhaps not surprisingly, they don't do it for me anymore. The neck pickup is fine, nice and warm though not as rich as the Tims, but I don't like the bridge pickup at all. It is trebly, thin and ill-defined when using some gain, so it has to go.

So I'm looking for an above-average PAF-ish bridge pickup, preferably with a below-average price tag ;). I'm currently considering the following
  • SD Seth Lover off eBay (unfortunately these seem to be going for a lot money lately)
  • Dimarzio Virtual PAF off eBay (though this might be a bit too modern, I think I want to keep this Tokai my 'vintage LP sounding' axe)
  • David Barfuss PAFs (these come recommended by one of our fellow forum members)
The Barfuss cost EUR75 each, which is a little bit more than I was looking to spend, but it wouldn't really be a problem to buy one. Biggest problem I have with the Barfuss pickup is that I haven't actually heard one. He's very friendly in e-mails and says they are "nothing like a Seth or Duncan 59", but he couldn't really specify what they DID sound like.