New guy here from USA

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gilmourjunkie

Reaction score
hi, I'm new here to this forum. Seems like a great place and lots of people from different countries which is cool in and of itself. About me, I've been playing for 30+ years, recently returning to lessons where I found out that I still stink. Regardless, I play in a band and am in the process of recording a CD... if Jimmie Vaughn can make a record, so can I.

So I've been reading the forum for a few weeks now trying to figure out which Tokai to order. Of course, in haste and with limited knowledge I ordered a newer ST40 which I got yesterday, it will be going back. Its not a bad guitar, in fact the neck is good, but the rest needs upgraded which I don't want to do. So today, I ordered what I believe is an older red AST56. This should be more what I was after. Like everyone, I love japan guitars made in the 80's & currently own both an early ESP 400 series strat and tele. I worked in a music store in the 80's when ESP was putting F brands to shame. Now I'm looking for something with more of a vintage profile neck and read lots on these... should be here next week. I can't wait.

Thank you. Yes, it has 4 digit serial on neck plate and the modified headstock which doesn't bother me too much... I don't often play the headstock... only when I bang it off the ceiling. :p

Don't buy old ones, buy the current ones. :)

Where are you ordering from in the USA?

Btw, welcome to the Gilmour fan club, my first name is Crazy. 8)

Diamond said:

Ha! I was gonna say don't buy current ones, buy old ones! I love the vintage Tokai Fender style guitars but that's just my crazy opinion.

I was just browsing the Vintaxe catalogs and found the TST-56 in the june 15 1983 catalog. Didn't know they started to export them to the US that early, thought it was late 1984.