Help me purchase my first Tokai!

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nimdawg

Reaction score
Hello to everyone,

I'm new to the Tokai Forum but it looks like I found a good place with good people to help me with my next guitar purchase.
I was looking to buy a Gibson LP but stumbled upon this forum somehow and I have been searching through these forums for the past couple of weeks now. I played a Gibson LP Standard for about 4 months (a friends) and loved the tone and the neck - found the body to be too heavy and unbalanced (10 lbs + ) but the tone?
Anyway, played another two LP standards that were very disappointing and a LP Studio that was great.
Looking at the Tokai Forum I was impressed by peoples responses to the guitars and the fact that it looks like a worthy competitor to Gibson.

I want a LP that has a fat, warm (NOT muddy) tone where I can hear the definition of the individual strings and will cut through in a band (I play Rock, Alternative, Blues and a bit of Jazz). I need a LP that sounds and plays great and don't care about brand-names and historic accuracies.
I don't believe that the headstock has to say Gibson, but as I cannot audition a Tokai I need to know that if I decide to go with a Tokai it will be a safe bet. (Here in Israel not many know Tokai and I will have a problem selling it should the need arise)
I'm looking for a keeper! :wink:

I'm looking at the LS75 -125 range:

1. How many pieces of Maple does the top consist of (including the solid color LS75)?
2. I see in picture that the back is 3 piece Mahagony, are there any 2 piece backs?
3. What is the nut made of some? (Some say bone, others don't say)
4. I understand that the only differences between the LS75 ?LS90 is the finish ? is this true?
5. What do these guitars weigh? (Hopefully less than 9 lbs)
6. What are the stock pickups like?