2000 LS-75Q....poly or nitro finish?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clay49

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Brand new to the forum...I'm looking at buying a used 2000 LS-75Q and have a few questions about the finish and top. I would appreciate help from those of you who know these instruments well....

Three questions: :roll:

1. Is the finish poly or Nitro?
2. How thick is the maple cap (or is it just a thin veneer)?
3. What's a reasonable price for these (in near-mint condition)?

Thanks!

:D Welcome Clay! Unfortunately I'm a bit of a noob here myself so I can't help you out much, but I'm sure some of the guys will chip in with the info you need.

Oh, and I'm sure that you know this but pics always help (even if it's just so that we can drool over a new guitar) and BTW I found out a bit about my Love Rock just by doing a search of the forum.

Is it a plain, flame or gold top? Do you know whether it's made in Japan or Korea?

Best of luck!

Hi clay49 and cheers to the show!

An LS 75Q 2007 will be quilted, but laminated top.

All I've seen came from Korea, which does not mean they are bad at all.

Some of them are amazing quality, but the back will probably basswood. So if you look for LP sound it will not work. The looks are good, build quality is OK, but not outstanding.

You can actually buy similar quality from china nowadays at $ 150.--.

I suggest that you play them before you buy.

Rupert

Hi guys, sorry Rupert but they are not korean they are MIJ and mahogany back with 2 piece maple top with a quilted maple veneer top. they are equivalent to the ls 90 Q now. And welcome to the forum Clay.. :)

Mick

Yes...I found out from the guy selling it that the top is actually 1/2" maple, with the quilt veneer on top of that...which is fine for me because it still gives the sound a bit more brightness with that half inch maple over the two piece mahogany body.