Help Identify - Prototype?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heytbone

Reaction score
Hello,any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to Tokai as an old friend just sold me a great guitar that I believe was a prototype around the 2008 NAMM Show as per his memory. No serial number and notice...flush input jack, no back plate, pointier horn and metal knobs. He had an identical sunburst and this candy apple red which he thought was a Goldstar model which I don't believe it is. He remembers it being form the NAMM show about 7 or 8 years ago? 5-way switch. Sweet sounding and playing but I can't find out what this baby is and would love to know? Any thoughts? (whammy bar not in picture). Thanks!!

Hi Heytbone,

This is not a prototype, it is in fact an SX-45.
These were first released in 1983 and have been a staple 'Original' shape since. Whilst it may have been shown in USA at NAMM in 2008, as far as Tokai goes - the States are decades behind the rest of the World.
Apologies to Ned, John, Marcus, etc.

Peter Mac

The guitars below were the guitars released at the 2007/2008 NAMM show.

Believe it or not the SC-2 attracted a C&D letter from the big G.
The US distributor backed down just like Tom Anderson backed down a few weeks ago.

I ended up selling all these guitars that were left over from NAMM for the US distributor...one week all sold online on TGP....kept two SC-2s for myself.

SC-2-FM-VB_zpsnygan9ts.jpg

SC-2-QM-VB_1_zpsxzqqgjpr.jpg

VX models.

TOKAI%20VX-Flamed%20Maple%20Violin%20Burst_zps5qdf5vvs.jpg

TOKAI-VX%20Sky%20Blue_zpshqbl3xib.jpg