Drilling holes in my ES120

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Waddy Peytona

Reaction score
I'm replacing the pickups (SD '59s), pots (CTS), and caps (orange drops) in my ES120. It appears that the CTS pot posts are larger than the original posts so I need to widen them to 9.4 mm. I've never done a mod like this before...fortunately for me I have a good friend who is an electrical engineer who is happy to help with the wiring and soldering.

Before I drill out the existing holes I thought I'd consult the wisdom of the forum...those of you who have done a similar mod...did you drill with a 9mm bit and then rasp out the extra .4 mm? And did you take any precautions to prevent chipping of the finish?

Thanks.

johan said:
I think you can get full size CTS pots with smaller shaft.

Ah, that would make sense wouldn't it. Thank you. I'll contact my supplier and see if different pots are available.

However, failing that...any tips on drilling?

On my Edwards I had the same problem ...

I didn't know that before what Johan mentioned, so I took a round file !!! :wink:

And then you have to work very, very carefully - bit by bit, until the pots will fit into! 8)

Don't take an electric tool, like a drill or something else. The rotation speed ist too high - you will chip the wood.

Good luck! :wink:

Roger

FWIW...

I came across this guitar repair link:

http://www.ampge.com/SKGS/sk/repairtips.htm

It has a really interesting tip on enlarging holes without chipping the finish. The basic idea is to use a bit slightly larger than the hole you intend to drill and RUN IT BACKWARDS over the exisiting hole to remove an area of finish around the hole. Then you can use a sharp bit with light pressure to drill the desired size of hole.