Springy Sound St50 date?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RGF

Reaction score
Hi all,

Today I recieved my first Tokai Springy Sound ST50. Bought this guitar from a very nice german seller on ebay. It's my first time I played such an old guitar and I must say.. GREAT !

The seller told me it was made in 1978. When I looked up your Serial Information, I was wondering because of the serial number on the neck plate. First digit 0 means 1980, or are there earlier productions in 78 where they started with a 0 on first digit instead of 8?

Here are the facts I found out....
(if you need further information or a picture, let me know)

Thanks,
RFG

Serial 0011003
Spaghetti Logo
"50" On the last fret
Stamp under Neck Pickup with 5=2 Y9
Stamp on the Neck 5=1
"U" stamped on all pickups

Thanks Len,

So, impossible to think its an earlier 78 ?
There is also no information on the body nor on the neck (no serial found)

Found the ebay listing...

for me it?s impossible to think that this is a 1978 one...

1978 is not better or worse than 1980 springy..
But I really don?t understand why the seller says 1978...

1978 / 1979s often had black or red model stamps in the neck pocket. From my observation these disappeared in 1980
early 1978 neck plates have no serial number, later 1978 plates have the 8xxxxxx format

Hi Len!

Thanks a lot for your information. Sounds like 1980 :)

My birth year is 78, so ... I thought nice, cause Fxxxxr produced mess at this time, so I saw my Opportunity to buy a great guitar from my year of birth....
Nevertheless... It sounds Great!

Gr?sse,
RfG

1980 for sure.
Don't let Peter Mac see this, he will get confused about such a late model with fretboard stamp & matching codes :D
Pics would be nice.

Pictures:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

Too late Jacco, too late. :lol: