Tokai USG 50S is it any good?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

noob_dad

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a noob, non-guitar playing dad of a 13 yr old who kind of has his heart set on a USG50S currently on sale in a glasgow store. He's only been playing for about 18 months. He's looking for a step up from the Westfield SG he has just now, and is looking to spend about ?250.

He tried out the USG50S in the shop and really liked it (especially the thick tone from the 3 pickups and the thinner neck). he doesn't like Les Pauls (too heavy and angular(!)) and isn't keen on strats, nor other "crazy" shapes, so probably an SG is what he'll go with.

So I started researching all round this here interweb and find lots of conflicting information, most of which goes like "Tokais were much better before, the build quality has taken a dive since they are made in China", but then you get the "you could do worse things with your money and all things considered, they are decent guitars" type comments. And amongst all of that, there is very little info about the 50S, or certainly no reviews of note.

A few questions, then...bearing in mind that he wants a new guitar, not a 2nd hand one.

Anyone here got one? If so, any advice you can give vis-a-vis buying one? Is it any good?

is the 5 yr warranty of any worth?

Aside from all of this, we're going shopping again at the weekend and I'll get him to try out as many other guitars so he can do a useful comparison, but if anyone has any comments about the 50S, please do tell!

Thanks, Al