Greco EG-900 at 81,000 Yen. Reasonable price?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrazenPicker

Reaction score
http://www.kurosawagakki.com/items/detail/101784.html

Price including shipping to Singapore as quoted by Kurosawa Gakki is 91,000 Yen. I've only started to look at Grecos recently so i'm not too familiar with the price range. Is this a reasonable price? Quality wise, are the EG900s usually "great" or merely "good"? I figure if price-wise this was in 1979 the equivalent of, say, a Tokai LS-160 today, with 31 years of aging of the wood.... should be pretty nice. Correct?

Thanks!

As an aside, I work as an expat in Singapore but I'm originally from Europe and intend to move back in a couple of years. Import taxes are just 7% here. I figure worst case I can always buy a bunch of these, then when I move back to Europe easily offload them without taking a loss, or more likely make a small profit. So the risk is small. But the main thing for me is I want to get a couple of great, great guitars. It's too much hassle for me to actively trade them.

Try to get at least ten percent off.
Still not a rip off at the current price IF the seller is trust worthy.

There is a huge advantage buying from at store and that is (if they are honest): no surprises and return rights (in most cases).

This is most likely a good guitar BUT some people have trouble with maple neck and they can be a bit heave. The DP103s are great pickups, far better than DryZ in my taste.

Thanks! I like your contributions to this forum, by the way. While I've had mostly positive experiences with Japanese guitars, I've also had one POS. A bit of cynicism is refreshing.

By the way, would this be a lawsuit guitar? I only want it if it's a lawsuit one. :p

By the way, the pickups have been replaced along with some other parts:

EG-900 made in 1979:
These parts are changed/replaced...