Tokai Love Rock new vs. old? Which Goldtop should I buy?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi! I'm considering to buy my first Tokai guitar. I've been playing guitar for 8 or 9 years now, and have yet to old a gold top.
Here's the ting, I got offered a Gibson Les Paul Historic R6, which seems pretty sweet, but then again the price.
It's so expensive I wouldn't even dare to play it :lol:

So Im looking for a players guitar, not a collecters. I've heard some great stuff about 80's Tokai guitars.
Can those which are prodused today measure with the 80's? Sorry if this question has been asked a load of times ;)

I just sold my Gibson Les Paul Standard because I was looking for a Gold Top. Which Tokai gold top should I be looking for? Which do you recommend?

I've heard that I should try to get a hold of an old love rock model, but at the same time I've been told that the new ones are great.

And not at least, where can I get a hold on one? I found a brand new Tokai Love Rock LS85S Gold top with p-90's on ebay. How do that one compare with the Gibson?

Cheers!

I'm suprised no one has got back to you re this thread! so here is my 10p worth. I used gibsons for years and got sick of their up and down quality, nitro sticky finish and I ended up changing pickups on each les paul.
The tokais have a gloss finish which is very smooth and non sticky, build quality of the jap models is easlily as good as gibson usa if not more consitant. I have 2 gold top LS75 and really like the pickups (though I use the neck pickup coil tapped so have changed that pickup to a dimarzio classic paf) and I love it. I also have a LS125 seb which sounds a tad more alive.
bottom line is the tokai delivers everything I need from a les paul, better finish than gibson, equal if not better build, great tone and with a good setup great playability.