Help about a burny SG

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Platypusproducer

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I’m new to the world of Japanese guitar, and I recently acquired a beautiful burny sg supposedly from around 85 - 90!

I imagine there must be thousands of post like this one on here, so I apologize, but I would love to learn more about this guitar, because honestly this is one of the best guitar I played!

So I snagged this beauty for 600$, it’s in great cosmetic condition appart from worn out frets and a small crack in the neck joint which is worrying me a little (though my luthier says it’s just the finish and not in the wood). The finish appears to be poly.

I would like to know the history behind this guitar, is it one of those regarded as equal to a Gibson ? Or is it one from the era where the quality of production started to decline ?

I haven’t opened it up yet, I don’t know if there’s VH1 pickup in it but I’m interested in the history behind burny guitars. I think I’m going to sold some of my fenders to buy more burny 😎

Thanks for your help !!DCA47B21-CB0C-45E1-8107-E0C63EF99105.png3CD2945E-6557-47C4-A29A-34048F8CADEF.jpeg25FE7DA3-7CA7-4407-8BB9-778E099257D7.png44ACFA05-F116-4605-9BA4-AA357BF79099.png

Attachments

• 389205F6-32E8-413D-BE99-E16F78148B44.jpeg
    389205F6-32E8-413D-BE99-E16F78148B44.jpeg
    69.1 KB · Views: 2
Forgot to add: No serial on the guitar, it's very lightweight, and neck feels relatively slim
I will post pictures of the electronics and pickup cavities tomorrow !

I can’t tell if the hardware is nickel or chrome btw

Last edited:
That style of truss rod cover was introduced in 1989, so it's no earlier than that. It's likely to have a date stamp (not a true, unique serial number) in the neck pickup cavity and/or date-coded pots, so get us some pics of those.