1978 ST-42 - My First Tokai (detailed info)

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

siamackz

Tokai Supporter
Reaction score
Hi All,

This is my first post because I just got my first Tokai :) It's a modest ST-42, with the original paperwork. After a few weeks of setting up, it's become a joy to play!

Vintage guitar collecting is a new hobby for me. I have been collecting and restoring vintage fountain pens for a few years though, and last year I happened to find my old Ibanez in the attic and decided to restore it. I thought maybe I could transfer some pen repair skills to the guitar. After a successful restoration, I started re-learning the guitar and this got me exploring vintage guitars.

I love doing research on vintage instruments! I have a whole website dedicated to research about the history of vintage pens, and so it was only natural for me to want to document the research on my Tokai too. So, if you're interested check out this link - https://www.siavintageguitars.com/tokai-st-42

I know very very very little about guitars, and this website is really just for me to document information about my own guitars - I am not attempting to make it a repository of information for the public. I am an absolutely newbie, so please feel free to correct me on anything I have mentioned on the site. I learned so much from veteran collectors when I started off with vintage pens and I am sure this forum's members will be equally generous in guiding me through my exciting new journey in vintage guitar collecting.

I can't seem to attach pictures here but you can check out the website link if you like.

Thanks!

"These guitars were becoming an actual threat to Fender’s own sales at the time. But, instead of suing Tokai, Fender entered into an agreement with them to manufacture Fender guitars at their Japanese factories in the late 1990s."