Strat pickup question

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

endzone

Reaction score
I'm a newbie and know absolutely nothing at this point about Tokai guitars except they are suppose to be really great high quality instruments. I just got a set of Strat pickups that are supposed to be out of a mid to late 70's Tokai Strat (I don't even know what a Tokai Strat is called) I have installed them and am very impressed with their tone. They are obviously high quality Alnico pickups. Very vintage sounding. Is there any way to date these pickups or to have a better idea as to what I have? Do they have any value, if in fact they are 70's era? I can post pics if that helps. thanks for any info.

Hi and welcome to the forum

The key to answering your question is finding out what is or isn't stamped on the bottom of your pickups ?

There are many pickup variants placed in the strat copies, and the quality of them depended on the list price of the guitar. In the 70's and early 80's there were a whole range of strat copies to suit the customers pockets.

E series were always the top quality that is universally agreed. These were Dimarzio FS-1's regarded in the late 70's and early 80's to be the best after-market pickup replacements.

The other stamp marks denoting different pickups were:
U
V
VII
H
S

Read this link more more info

http://www.tokaiforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=4552&highlight=pickup

Thanks for the link Chris. Mine have a "U" stamped on the grey base. So they must be the ST Vintage MkII. Is that good? Are these considered of any quality or are they cheapos? Like I said, they sound wonderfully vintage. How much are they worth? I got these from a buddy of mine and he didn't give me a price yet. So I need to have some idea of what I should pay him. Any thoughts there? Thanks

endzone said: