anybody played a 52 tele style guitar?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

walter tore

Reaction score
Hi all: I have a MIK tokai ES 60 and love it. I am thinking of getting one of their tele's. How do they sound, and is the workmanship similar to the ES 60? I have a 1963 jazzmaster, and it has that fender hum when plugged in- you have to move around to find the quiet spot. Did tokai eliminate that problem? Thanks. Walter

Hi Walter

I Have a fairly recent Tokai (i.e. modified headstock) double edgebound Tele custom - MIJ (TTE55?). Knowing Tokai they went out of their way to ensure that their vintage replicas hum just like the originals. My Tele has the normal single coil hum plus it had an annoying crackle every time my hand passed over the scratchplate. A few strips of self adhesive aluminium tape around the control cavity and on the back of the scratchplate solved the latter problem.

PS - This Tokai Tele custom - with the stock pickups - has the best tone of any of my guitars.

Hope this helps

Mark

PPS - Try and get a Japanese one if you can.

Sorry Walter

Ediated and reposted my message as I'm not sure I properly conveyed what I intended.

I Have a fairly recent Tokai (i.e. modified headstock) double edgebound Tele custom - MIJ (TTE55?). Knowing Tokai they would go out of their way to ensure that their vintage replicas hum just like the originals. Hence my Tele has the normal single coil hum plus it had an annoying crackle every time my hand passed over the scratchplate. A few strips of self adhesive aluminium tape around the control cavity and on the back of the scratchplate solved the latter problem.