SG104 or SG185 ?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ibicus

Reaction score
Even if I think not many members here have owned or played a 185 it is worth a try.I could buy a 185 used in mint condition in my country without import taxes.On the other side I could order a 104 via rakuten with shipping and taxes.The difference in the end will be around 450 euros.From the specs it could be worth to pay more to get a unique high end SG.What do you think ?

You will always be wondering what you are missing.

You could order this one from Yahoo Japan through a middleman service: http://page8.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/h201722199

wulfman said:
You will always be wondering what you are missing.

Sad but true.The usual problem.But I have no experience in buying from yahoo.Starts with the crappy google translator.I do not really know what I get.The middleman service takes money too and on top of the total costs including shipping 25 % import taxes.Until today I#ve been too much of a coward to buy from yahoo.Bought from ishibashi once and that was perfect though.

Just go for the 185... 450 euros isn't really that much in the grand scheme of things, especially if you will get something that you will probably cherish for a long time.

Ok...makes sense.What about the price ? 1400 euros for the guitar only.7 years old mint without case...

ibicus said:
Ok...makes sense.What about the price ? 1400 euros for the guitar only.7 years old mint without case...

Hmm.. don't take my word for granted as I may be very wrong, but:

As far as I understand the Tokai model number essentially indicates the price in Japanese Yen.

So SG104 = 770 euros (?547) (before you add import Tax, etc)
and SG185 = 1370 euros (?974) (7 years ago)