Could someone help me to identify this Tokai (Goldstar?)?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrDeJaVu

Reaction score
Hi all!

This is my first post on this forum, I'm very exited to see such a large community devoted to Tokai guitars 8)

So a little background on my Tokai;

I've been playing guitar for about 12 years now, and I have a small collection of guitars; A cheap Ibanez bass guitar (which I traded for my Epiphone SG, I hated that guitar!), a London City Comet MK1 (telecaster replica), a London City stratocaster replica and two acoustic ones.

about two years ago I decided to buy another stratocaster to use as a main guitar. But that wasn't a easy task, I have no idea how many guitars I tried and tested but they where mostly new Fenders/G&L's and other 'marketable' guitars but I just couldn't find The One.

I visited my local guitar tech to ask for advice, he recommended trying a early 80's squier or a Tokai. I never heard of Tokai guitars before so I did some research and I decided to try one.

The next day I saw a Tokai for sale on the internet and a few days later I had the guitar on my lap. And oh ****!!! I felt in love immediately. The sustain was amazing and the solid maple neck was the best neck I've ever played on! But the owner had no idea about the specifics, his guitar teacher buyed the guitar somewhere in the 80's, removed the Tokai logo and added a Fender decal. When his teacher got old and couldn't play guitar anymore he gave it to him

I changed some things however, the ceramic pickups sounded a bit flat and a new output

The pickups I use now are made at the Woo Sung Chorus factory. specs; - -Alnico 5 magnes
-Heavy Formvar winding wire
-Forbon Bobbins
-Wax potted
-DC resistance 6.3Kohm.