Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Could someone help me to identify this Tokai (Goldstar?)?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index -> Vintage (Older than 1985)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MrDeJaVu
Plucker

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 4:11 pm    Post subject: Could someone help me to identify this Tokai (Goldstar?)? Reply with quote

Hi all!

This is my first post on this forum, I'm very exited to see such a large community devoted to Tokai guitars

So a little background on my Tokai;

I've been playing guitar for about 12 years now, and I have a small collection of guitars; A cheap Ibanez bass guitar (which I traded for my Epiphone SG, I hated that guitar!), a London City Comet MK1 (telecaster replica), a London City stratocaster replica and two acoustic ones.

about two years ago I decided to buy another stratocaster to use as a main guitar. But that wasn't a easy task, I have no idea how many guitars I tried and tested but they where mostly new Fenders/G&L's and other 'marketable' guitars but I just couldn't find The One.

I visited my local guitar tech to ask for advice, he recommended trying a early 80's squier or a Tokai. I never heard of Tokai guitars before so I did some research and I decided to try one.

The next day I saw a Tokai for sale on the internet and a few days later I had the guitar on my lap. And oh damn!!! I felt in love immediately. The sustain was amazing and the solid maple neck was the best neck I've ever played on! But the owner had no idea about the specifics, his guitar teacher buyed the guitar somewhere in the 80's, removed the Tokai logo and added a Fender decal. When his teacher got old and couldn't play guitar anymore he gave it to him