My Boss SD 1 Super Overdrive To TS 808 Results

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stratdeluxer

Reaction score
Hey all :lol:

I've been modding TS9's and TS5's for a few years now and since my great sounding TS5 has been giving me switch fits(Which I fixed yesterday)I decided to mod one of the yellow Boss SD1 Super Overdrive pedals to the TS 808 specs..First I Must tell you that neither my modded TS9 or this SD 1 sound anywhere as nice as my TS5...The TS5's always have a warmer,more natural uncolored tone with no raspy or harshness over notes..The TS9 has more gain,is brighter with the tone control all the way off and is more aggressive overall than the TS5 also,but the TS5 has less gain pegged...

The Boss pedal I just finished sounds alot like the TS9 I own but it doesn't have the amount of output that the TS9 has...Compared to the TS5 this pedal is more scooped in the mids and the low mids aren't as full...My TS5 has caps that were stepped up a notch in value for more lowend and fullness so until I read the SD1 schematic,the SD1 isn't as low mid and full sounding...The SD1 is a great humbucking pedal and my TS5 was tweaked totally for a strat and Tele with alot of trial and error..