FX Loops

General amplifier talk.

Moderator: ned

Post Reply
modland
Guitar God
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 7:47 pm
Location: North East

FX Loops

Post by modland » Sat Dec 05, 2009 4:55 am

Short on information on this but, I've been asked to find out. If a signal was sent from a FX loop and not returned, will there be no sound from the amp (DSL401)

ranjam
Sus4add11
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 6:01 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by ranjam » Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:53 pm

With my limited edyamakashun, I will throw out a hypothesis and say more than likely. If it is a parallel loop, I really believe you would still hear the signal routed through the rest of the amplifier. And since 99% of loops are parallel, Robert's yer auntie's husband. Now a series loop is a horse of a different color.
I know I have a rack tuner plugged into my amp loop, with just a short cable from the amp FX send to the tuner, and nada from the tuner back to the FX return. It's been working fine for a couple of years now. So my hypothesis is based on some experience.

JohnA
Guitar God
Posts: 4176
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:49 am
Location: Leicester UK

Post by JohnA » Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:00 am

Not totaly sure, but the DSL401 has a mix control on the front to govern how much of the signal gos through the loop, effectively changing it from a parallel loop to a seriess loop as in ranjam's post. So with the control fully up I would imagine with the signal coming out of the send and going no-where you would hear nothing. I suppose you could bung a jack in the send socket and use the mix control as a master volume??

Post Reply