Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tokai Hardware ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index -> Tokai Guitars
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TonyF
Plucker


Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey:

I was wondering if you can replace
Tokai hardware (bridges ect) easily
with Fender and/or Gotoh reissue hardware?
I've got my eye on a Breezysound Tele
and have a Original Tele bridge I would
throw on it. I know some Japanese companies
used metric dimensions although Japanese
Fenders were generally compatible with
US hardware. Also anyone have any thoughts
on the pots/switches used in Tokai's.
Most folks switched this stuff out
on the Janese Fenders. Thanks for any
feedback.

Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luis
Guitar God


Joined: 15 Sep 2001
Posts: 2311
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony, japanese guitar vibrato bridge is shorter than an USA made.Some people told about there is some space left to place screws.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skybone
Guitar God


Joined: 04 Dec 2001
Posts: 504
Location: South Yorkshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll find that Tokai source all their hardware, including the pickups, from Gotoh. If you do buy after market hardware (bridges, tuners etc), Gotoh gear should fit the guitar without too much hassle.

Well, in theory any way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javelin70
Guitar God


Joined: 09 Sep 2001
Posts: 820
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I bought a Goldstar Sound that had no tremolo arm, I tried the arm from my japanese Squier strat but it didn't fit (mm thread). I then bought a US spec trem arm (10/32" thread) and that fit. The trem on the guitar (AST-40) is japanese, probably Gotoh.

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Novosel
Guitar God


Joined: 23 Dec 2001
Posts: 244
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2002 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been thinking of trying one of the new lightweight stop tailpieces by Gotoh on my 80's Love Rock. It's supposed to increase sustain. Does anyone know if the stud spacing is the same?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index -> Tokai Guitars All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group