Hello, Newbie here. I have questions about my tokai.

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hgdiesel

Reaction score
I have a Tokai that I received in a trade and I recently put it on Ebay and was flooded with questions that I cannot answer. It has a the open book headstock. It has Tokai in cursive across the top of the headstock. Love Rock model and a les paul standard truss cover with two screws. On the back of the headstock is the following serial number 1013036 in big black indented numbers. I thought is was a nonjapanese by the truss rod screws. The guy I got it from didn't know the difference and traded a Gibson SG for it. He didn't realize it until he posted in on Harmony Central and more experienced individuals pointed out the fact it was not a japanese mode. The 22nd fret is stamped 100. I pulled the neck pu and looking in the cavity it looked like a long tenon. It also has the following sticker Villain Custom Shop Made in the USA. There doesn't appear to be any flaws and certainly no repairs done. The guitar is a very, very good playing guitar and besides maybe the pickups it is probably as good as my History LP custom. I will try to post a pic if they are not too large. Any information you guys can give is truly appreciated.

Thanks

http://s467.photobucket.com/albums/rr33/hgdiesel/

Truss rod cover has been replaced. From the pictures, I can't see the top of headstock well enough. Rear covers - I don't know, I'll defer to someone else. Top and neck look okay. I would pull the truss rod cover, and check for any additional screw holes underneath. I'm sure that you'll get a more definitve reading from others.

hgdiesel said:
I have a Tokai that I received in a trade and I recently put it on Ebay and was flooded with questions that I cannot answer.
Simple answer:
Pictured guitar is a lousy Fakai...