Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

4 way switch /telecaster

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index -> Guitars
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
japaxes
Guitar God


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 321
Location: birmingham england

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:38 am    Post subject: 4 way switch /telecaster Reply with quote

hi guys , just fitted a four way switch to a telecaster, wiring diagram ok though a lot of people have had problems , just remember to put a direct earth from the pick up cover (neck) and remove the link wire from pick up to cover . all went realy well .. untill refitting the control plate .
Got the extra sound (position 4) got neck pick up (position3) got neck/bridge(position2) but no bridge pick up /on its own (position 1)
only neck/bridge as position 2?
Dropped it round to a tech friend of mine & after checking the wiring he agreed it was as per the diagram. It eventualy worked out that the slot cut out on standard telecasters (f****r/tokai/greco) is too small to allow
the four way switch to make contact on the last position.So please be aware of this as they do not mention this when you buy the switch. Hope it helps ....japaxes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaveWW
Guitar God


Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 1451
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you've had some fun! I had similar issue with a switchcraft switch on an LP. There wasn't enough room in the cavity.

Thanks for letting us know.

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JVsearch
Guitar God


Joined: 01 Jan 2009
Posts: 2017
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah thanks, that's a useful piece of info, because when I eventually get my Telecaster I definitely want to put one of those 4 position set-ups on it!
_________________
Totally biased towards Japanese made guitars.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
storm
Guitar God


Joined: 11 Jan 2010
Posts: 58
Location: UK Leeds

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JVsearch wrote:
Yeah thanks, that's a useful piece of info, because when I eventually get my Telecaster I definitely want to put one of those 4 position set-ups on it!


I had to bend the contacts to 90 degrees on the bottom or I would have had to carve out an extra channel to make it fit.

I have a new ate50 and am wwaiting for my baja wiring kit with s1 to arrive, so will update wether I have to butcher the guitar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
japaxes
Guitar God


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 321
Location: birmingham england

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

good luck with that ,have not got round to fitting s1 switching yet . But had a hell of a job finding a gold s1 knob .(cost me just as much in postage as cost of the knob,god theres the market to be in)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index -> Guitars All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group