Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A slightly embarrassing question...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index -> Amps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Paladin2019
Guitar God


Joined: 06 Sep 2002
Posts: 1972
Location: Cardiff, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 1:46 pm    Post subject: A slightly embarrassing question... Reply with quote

I feel that after more than a decade of playing guitar and trawling related internet forums I should know this, but here goes...

I know someone who owns and electro-acoustic guitar with a piezo pickup and wants to play it in a live setting through a PA.

I have been asked if they could plug it straight into the PA mixer or if it would need some kind of preamp setup... and I have absolutely no idea! My googling skills seem to have failed me on this one so I need some help! How can this guy amplify his guitar?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnA
Guitar God


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 4176
Location: Leicester UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ideally you would need a DI box to convert to a low impedance signal as a piezo output is very low, but it would work just going strainght to the desk if you whack the gain up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Paladin2019
Guitar God


Joined: 06 Sep 2002
Posts: 1972
Location: Cardiff, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks john, I have relayed the information and done some additional research around it, hopefully they'll be able to sort something out. Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JVsearch
Guitar God


Joined: 01 Jan 2009
Posts: 2017
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the guitar has a battery in it then it has a preamp on board which should do enough to give a level for the desk, but as John says it will need a lot more gain than something like a synth.
_________________
Totally biased towards Japanese made guitars.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
custom53
I only know 3 chords


Joined: 03 Aug 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Hamer DuoTone. 2 humbuckers and a piezo. But it has 2 jacks. One for the humbuckers and one for the piezo. With a 3 postion mini toggle. I have always sent the piezo direct thru the board and the humbuckers thru the amp. Works great. But it is pretty simple with the 2 output jacks...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Diodibuh
Guitar God


Joined: 11 Aug 2006
Posts: 688
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you have short cable and mixer on stage, then you can go straight into desk. Not the best solution but it's ok for let's say max 10 meters.
If you have multicore cable and mixer in FOH (large stage), then you need D.I. box. Why? D.I. box balance signal, has proper impedance for mixer (usually around 600 OHM) ant attenuates signal for 6 dB. If you don't use D.I. on long cables, you get also noise because guitar signal is not balanced.
Hope my anser helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Tokai Forum - a subsidiary of TokaiRegistry.com Forum Index -> Amps All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group