HELP! Could someone explain the Love Rock range?

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

glouis

Reaction score
Hi fellas,

It's been about 15 years I play guitar, but I'm a rookie here, and I don't know quite anything about Tokai guitars, except I've heard so much good about them...
Could somebody explain me the current range of Love Rock : for instance, on eBay UK, I've seen a LS80, and the seller says it is also known as LS70... Guitar costs ?649, whereas on Coda site, I've seen an LS 70 at ?499 : is it really the same model?
Plus, could you pls tell me which models are MIJ and which are MIK? I've also heard about models aimed at american market, whose heads are quite different... :-? Well, I must confess I'm totally lost!!!
Will someone have mercy?

Thanks guys! :wink:

Hi There

Coda are selling off old shop soiled/Ex Demo stock for ?499. The price for a new one with a Hard Case included is generally around the ?649 mark. I'll PM you a link to the ones i've seen.

Cheers

Forgot to tackle the other half of your question - here is a quick run down of current UK love rock models

Korean:
LS48
LS50Q
LS56V - Has a bigsby fitted

Japanese:
LS60
LS65
LS70F
LS75Q
LS75S
LC70
LS150
LS320

Where there appears to be confusion, notwithstanding coda's pricing, is in the code numbers used. Tokai change their codes more often than a baby has it's nappy changed. And so the old codes have stuck in peoples's minds. Although, to be correct the LS70 should be called an LS80, LS75Q = LS85Q, LS75S should be LS85S and the LC70s are now officially called LC80.

In general the Japanese models will feature better materials, build quality and better finish than the cheaper Korean models. At the same time, the Korean models are generally accepted to beat the pants of most Epiphones that cost more. So they aren't bad guitars, but they are made to a budget.

Hope this helps.