Tokai Stratocaster

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pathos

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to the entire lawsuit guitar thing, but I was just wondering what the difference is among the silver star, gold star, and springy sound. Obviously they have different places of origin and ages, but more specifically quality-wise. To a collector, what would be the most desirable? Also how do the 80's Tokais go up against the 80's MIJ Squiers?

Hey Pathos, welcome to this forum, I have to say I had cold welcome people from this forum as I had absolute no replies to my question, so I won't do that to you :wink:

First of all, Tokai had to change their specification (around?) 1983 as Fender sued and Tokai came to result that they changed to "law-suited guitar". Hence people say earlier (guitars with fender spaghetti logo) one is better, although I cannot compare them at the moment...

Springy, Gold star is replica of 50s, 60s type and Silver star is 70s replica, although TST is not sold in outside of Japan.

For the view of collectors, I think you should concern about grade of guitar as well as law-suited stuff; higher the number, better grade, for example TST 120 was sold 120,000 Yen in Japan. I am player and not collector, but I think late 70s TST 80-120 is most collectable, as I have never seen them...

I also think Tokai is A LOT better than J, Squire, if you are desparate to collect the official Fender Japan guitars, I think you should look at JV one, but I still think Tokai st is better than Fender J, JV.

I hope this answers to your question, I might be wrong, let me know if I am, good luck!