Greco Dry / Screamin pickup identification help

Tokai Forum

Help Support Tokai Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
leadguitar_323 said:
Hi fiftywatt, Interesting, i have seymores, tokai, custom hand wound, bill lawrence and dimarzio's and in my RR 65 the dry 1982 are awesome and the creamiest of the pickups i have, it well may be that i have the perfect combination of pickups and tone woods in this guitar, or i'm just lucky, but i play everything from metal to undistorted blues on this guitar and it does everything extremely well and not a hint of microphonics.This isn't an uneducated rambling either as i have been playing for 30+ years and have tried multiple combinations of pickups. They probably aren't the best pickups there is,but in this guitar they are perfect. :p

I suspect I came across a little harsh on my post. Screamin 82's have ranged from blah to downright amazing to my ears. Depends on the guitar IMO.

NWOBHM- I have an '84 Greco EG59-50 that is nice and 8 lbs. lightweight/very resonant. Nice wide growth rings on the center seam 2 piece mahogany back. This guitar sounds amazing with the Screamin's. No need to change them.

Mick, I agree about the Dry 1982's. I had an '85 RR-65 like yours with the D-82's. It sounded phenomenal for crystal clean tones or modern metal. Didn't care for the neck profile at the time but should have hung onto it I suspect. I'm an old geezer. Been playing since 1977. Bought too many replacement pickups to mention. The other Greco I had with D-82's was an 11 lb. '83 JS-65. Too heavy.. dense lows and shrill highs. No fault of the pickups to be sure. I've never been able to make one of the heavier weight Greco's sound good with replacement pickups quite frankly.

fiftywatt said:
leadguitar_323 said: